If You Like James Patterson, You’ll Love These Authors

Still waiting to get your hands on the latest Women’s Murder Club series by James Patterson? Whether you’re waiting for your hold or have already devoured it, we’ve made you a list of authors and recommended titles like James Patterson’s fast-paced thrillers. Go ahead, give them a shot!

1. Jeffery Deaver

Reason: “Jeff Deaver's gripping suspense novels rival those of James Patterson -- both write stories characterized by clever plot twists, memorable characters, menacing atmospheres, psychological overtones, and often nightmarish qualities.” — Kim Burton

Check out The Bone Collector. Available as a book and eBook.

2. Jonathan Kellerman

Reason: “Jonathan Kellerman and James Patterson write gritty, suspenseful series that combine psychological insights into crime and criminals with police procedures. For both, vividly drawn characters, page-turning pacing, and cinematic story lines create compelling and twisted crime stories filled with violence and grisly details.” — Joyce Saricks

Check out When the Bough Breaks. Available as a book, eBook, audiobook CD and downloadable audiobook.

3. Nicholas Sparks

Reason: “While James Patterson is better known for his suspenseful mysteries, he has a few heartwarming love stories that are similar in tone to Nicholas Sparks' books.” — Rebecca Sigmon

Check out The Notebook. Available as a book and audiobook CD.

4. Bill O'Reilly

Reason: “Both authors' books are practically guaranteed to hit the bestseller lists, whether they are written for adult or youth audiences. James Patterson partners with many co-writers for his youth fiction; Bill O'Reilly generally sticks to nonfiction adaptations of his adult books. The two have also partnered on a bestselling picture book.” — Autumn Winters

Check out Killing Lincoln. Available as a book, large print book and downloadable audiobook.

Bonus: Want to look at that bestselling picture book? We’ve got it! Give Please A Chance is available as a book and eBook.

5. Ridley Pearson

Reason: “James Patterson and Ridley Pearson both feature serial murders, series detective protagonists, bleak outlooks, graphic violence, and psychological implications, though Pearson's novels are more densely written and reflective in tone than those of Patterson.” — Kim Burton

Check out Disney After Dark. Available as a book and eBook.

6. John Sandford

Reason: “Like James Patterson, John Sandford writes hard-edged, suspenseful novels of detection. Sandford offers similarly fast-paced, bleak stories, pervaded by a menacing atmosphere. Psychological details are often the key to the case, and the story unfolds with strong language and graphically portrayed violence.” — Kim Burton

Check out Rules of Prey. Available as a book, eBook and downloadable audiobook.

7. Greg Iles

Reason: “Greg Iles writes more elegantly than James Patterson, but tells equally complex stories of gritty suspense. Plot twists, contemporary settings (although he has also written suspenseful thrillers set in World War II), alternating points of view, and graphic violence feature prominently.” — Kim Burton

Check out The Quiet Game. Available as a book, eBook and downloadable audiobook.

8. Mary Higgins Clark

Reason: Both authors’ works are suspenseful, plot-driven and fast-paced. — NoveList Contributor

Check out I've Got You Under My Skin. Available as a book, eBook, audiobook CD and downloadable audiobook. Also available as a book in Chinese.

Like these recommendations? You can discover your own author read-alikes using NoveList Plus. It’s an online resource that lets you find authors, titles and series based on those you already enjoy.

NoveList Plus

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Edmonton Public Library