Due to scheduled maintenance, there will be no access to your personal account, eBooks, eAudiobooks or any of our online resources from Sunday, Sept. 20 at 7 p.m. to Monday, Sept. 21 at 1 a.m.

Our website, online catalogue, EPL app and events listing will be unavailable on Sunday, Sept. 20 from 6 a.m. to 8 a.m. due to scheduled maintenance.

Young Reader's Choice Awards

The Young Reader’s Choice Awards (YRCA) is a year-long reading program for children in Grades 4 to 12 living in Alaska, Alberta, British Columbia, Idaho, Montana and Washington. Sponsored by the Pacific Northwest Library Association (PNLA), it is the only award where children choose the nominated books and the winners. The nominees for the 2020 YRCA have been selected and voting closed on May 31, 2020.

Have a question about the YRCA? Read our FAQs.

YRCA 2020 Winners

See which books kids chose as the best of the 2020 Young Reader's Choice Awards.


Voting goes until April 15, 2021 so choose your favourite title here. Teachers can submit votes on behalf of their class here.

Have you read an awesome book that you want to suggest for a future Young Reader's Choice Award? Suggest a title here.

Junior Division

The Serpent’s Secret
by Sayantani DasGupta

by John David Anderson

Small Spaces
by Katherine Arden

Wings of Fire: The Dragonet Prophecy (graphic novel)
by Tui Sutherland

Positively Izzy
by Terri Libenson

by Kenneth Oppel

Intermediate Division

by Scott Westerfeld

No Fixed Address
by Susin Nielsen

TBH, This is SO Awkward
by Lisa Greenwald

Ash Princess
by Laura Sebastian

City of Ghosts
by Victoria Schwab

The Poet X
by Elizabeth Acevedo

Senior Division

by Courtney Summers

The Cruel Prince
by Holly Black

Children of Blood and Bone
by Tomi Adeyemi

A Very Large Expanse of Sea
by Tahereh Mafi

I am Still Alive
by Kate Alice Marshall

Dear Evan Hansen
by Val Emmich

Five Feet Apart
by Rachael Lippincott

by Neal Shusterman

Cast Your VoteCast Your Vote for YRCA

Vote for your favourite YRCA 2021 books by April 15, 2021.

Classroom Resources

Featured - Educators

Sign up to the Teachers' Toolbox Newsletter

Sign up for the quarterly Teachers' Toolbox Newsletter and get EPL updates, practical ideas and booklists delivered straight to your inbox.

Here are the resources you need to support YRCA in your classroom:

Classroom Votes
Teachers can submit votes for a school or classroom.

Book Profiles (PDF)
Read these brief summaries to learn more about this year's nominees.

Suggest a Future YRCA TitleSuggest a Future YRCA Title

Read an awesome book? Suggest it for a future Young Reader's Choice Award!
Read an awesome book? Suggest it for a future Young Reader's Choice Award!

Check It Out

YRCA Lists and Blog Posts

Past Winners

2020 Winners

Junior Division


by Alan Gratz


Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus

by Dusti Bowling


The Hate U Give

by Kendare Blake

2019 Winners
2018 Winners
2017 Winners
2016 Winners
2015 Winners
2014 Winners
2013 Winners
2012 Winners
Back to Top