Submissions open for 2017 Alberta Readers’ Choice Award

Authors can enter books until the end of 2016

For immediate release:

EDMONTON, AB,  November 17, 2016 – The Edmonton Public Library (EPL) has opened the call for book submissions for the 2017 Alberta Readers’ Choice Award. Alberta authors can submit their titles until December 31, 2016.

One of Alberta’s richest literary prizes, EPL’s $10,000 Alberta Readers’ Choice Award is awarded annually for the best fiction or narrative non-fiction book written by an Alberta author.

“Each and every year we receive submissions that showcase the marvelous talent our province has to offer,” said Pilar Martinez, CEO of EPL. “We are eager to see what titles are entered, and anticipate continued growth in submissions as well as votes logged by local readers.”

Past winners include Fishing for Bacon by Michael Davie (2010), Letters from the Lost by Helen Waldstein Wilkes (2011), Fall From Grace by Wayne Arthurson (2012), The Shore Girl by Fran Kimmel (2013), Almost a Great Escape by Tyler Trafford (2014), Thief of Glory by Sigmund Brouwer (2015) and A Wake for the Dreamland by Laurel Deedrick-Mayne (2016).

To be eligible for the award, books must be published between January 1, 2016 and December 31, 2016. Only works of fiction and narrative non-fiction are eligible, and books must be a first edition full-length novel, short story collection or book of poetry written by an Alberta author who has been a resident of the province for the last 12 months. For a complete list of rules, please visit, opens a new window.

Authors can submit their titles to:

Edmonton Public Library Alberta Readers’ Choice Award
Attn: Miranda Koshelek
Londonderry Branch
110 Londonderry Mall
Edmonton, AB
T5C 3C8

All books entered will be narrowed down to a Top 5 list in early 2017, and readers will go to the polls to cast their votes in the summer with a winner being announced in the fall.


About the Alberta Readers’ Choice Award

The Alberta Readers’ Choice Award is presented by the Edmonton Public Library (EPL). Currently in its eighth year, the award promotes literacy and reading to Albertans by highlighting the unique and talented writers residing in our province. The $10,000 prize, sponsored by EPL, goes to the author of the winning title as voted on by the reading public. The Alberta Readers’ Choice Award is one of the largest literary prizes offered in Alberta and is comparable to many national literary awards. For more information about the award, visit, opens a new window.

About the Edmonton Public Library
The Edmonton Public Library (EPL) is proud to be 2014 Library of the Year! We’ve come a long way since 1913 when books were all you could find on our shelves… and we’re just getting started! Today, EPL carries everything you care about. We are Edmonton’s largest lender of all manner of information and entertainment. Our professionally trained staff take you beyond Google with the knowledge, discernment and desire to help you navigate a universe of information. The second most visited place in Edmonton, every year EPL hosts over 14 million in-branch and online visits across our 20 branches and website. We deliver our incredible content to you everywhere – in the library, at home or on your handheld device. Unmatched access and unrivalled value – that is today’s EPL. EPL is a registered charity and relies on donations to enhance services. Spread the words.

For more information, contact
Heather McIntyre
Marketing Communications Specialist
Edmonton Public Library