Submissions open for 2016 Alberta Readers’ Choice Award

Authors can submit books until the end of 2015

For immediate release:

EDMONTON, AB,  Dec. 1, 2015 – The Alberta Readers’ Choice Award has opened the call for book submissions from Alberta authors beginning now until December 31, 2015.

Sponsored by the Edmonton Public Library, the Alberta Readers’ Choice Award is awarded annually for the best fiction or narrative non-fiction book written by an Alberta author.

“The Alberta Readers’ Choice Award showcases the breadth of literary talent in our province,” said Pilar Martinez, CEO of EPL. “The quality and creativity of the titles submitted impress our judges each year, and EPL is proud to support putting the spotlight on these local writers.”

The $10,000 prize – presented annually by EPL and one of Alberta’s richest literary prizes – recognizes exceptional writing in our province and encourages readers to support local authors.

Past winners include Fishing for Bacon by Michael Davie (2010), Letters from the Lost by Helen Waldstein Wilkes (2011), Fall From Grace by Wayne Arthurson (2012), The Shore Girl by Fran Kimmel (2013), Almost a Great Escape by Tyler Trafford (2014) and Thief of Glory by Sigmund Brouwer (2015).

To be eligible for the award, books must be published between January 1, 2015 and December 31, 2015. Only works of fiction and narrative non-fiction are eligible, and books must be a first edition full-length novel, short story collection or book of poetry written by an Alberta author who has been a resident of the province for the last 12 months. For a complete list of submission rules, please visit our website.

Authors can submit their books to:

Edmonton Public Library Alberta Readers’ Choice Award
Attn: Diego Ibarra
Stanley A. Milner Library
7 Sir Winston Churchill Square
Edmonton, AB
T5J 2V4

All books submitted will be narrowed down to a Top 5 list in early 2016, and the public will go to the polls to cast their votes in the spring. The winner will be announced later in 2016.



About the Alberta Readers’ Choice Award
The Alberta Readers’ Choice (ARC) Award is presented by the Edmonton Public Library (EPL). Currently in its seventh year, the ARC Award promotes literacy and reading to Albertans by highlighting the unique and talented writers residing in our province. The $10,000 prize, sponsored by EPL, goes to the author of the winning title as voted on by the reading public. The ARC Award is one of the largest literary prizes offered in Alberta and is comparable to many national literary awards.

About the Edmonton Public Library
The Edmonton Public Library (EPL) is proud to be 2014 Library of the Year! We’ve come a long way since 1913 when books were all you could find on our shelves… and we’re just getting started! Today, EPL carries everything you care about. We are Edmonton’s largest lender of all manner of information and entertainment. Our professionally trained staff take you beyond Google with the knowledge, discernment and desire to help you navigate a universe of information. The second most visited place in Edmonton, every year EPL hosts over 14 million in-branch and online visits across our 19 branches and website. We deliver our incredible content to you everywhere – in the library, at home or on your handheld device. Unmatched access and unrivalled value – that is today’s EPL. EPL is a registered charity and relies on donations to enhance services. Spread the words.

For more information, contact
Heather McIntyre
Marketing Communications Specialist
Edmonton Public Library