If You Like John Green, You’ll Love These 13 YA Books

Are you a member of Nerdfighteria who can’t wait to get your hands on John Green’s newly released Turtles All the Way Down? Whether you’re waiting for your hold or have already blasted through it, we’ve made you a list of books and authors similar to John Green’s quirky style.

Like Green’s novels, these books are hilarious, introspective and pack an emotional punch. Check them all out and don’t forget to be awesome!

 

Books like The Fault in Our Stars

1. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

A life-threatening disease has forced Madeline to stay inside for all of her 18 years. When a new boy moves in next door, the outside world becomes more irresistible than ever. Like Hazel, Maddy is a strong girl in a hard situation, and must decide how much she’ll risk for love.

Everything, Everything is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a book, eBook and downloadable audiobook. There’s also a movie version.

2. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Long bus rides, mix tapes and comics bring misfits Eleanor and Park together. As their feelings for each other intensify, stronger and darker forces threaten to tear them apart. If Hazel and Gus’ connection in The Fault in Our Starts left you wanting more, this is the book for you.

Eleanor & Park is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a book, eBook, audiobook and downloadable audiobook.

3. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Greg doesn’t have any friends. What he does have is a “co-worker,” Earl, who he makes movie parodies with and Rachel, a sick girl from school who Greg’s mom forces him to visit. As Rachel gets sicker, Greg and Earl try to make a movie to cheer her up. Hilarious and devastating, this book will appeal to fans of the jokes and the tears in The Fault in Our Stars.

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a book, eBook, audiobook and downloadable audiobook. There is also a movie version.

 

Books like Will Grayson, Will Grayson

4. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon thinks the school musical is going to be the only drama in his life, until a private e-mail falls into the hands of a vindictive classmate threatening to out him before he’s ready. Much like will grayson in John Green and David Levithan’s jointly authored novel, Simon must navigate sexual identity and first love while deciding how much of himself he’s willing to reveal to the world.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a book, eBook and downloadable audiobook.

5. Hold Me Closer: The Tiny Cooper Story by David Levithan

Couldn’t get enough of larger-than-life Tiny Cooper? Read the gut-busting script of his autobiographical musical in this sort-of-sequel to Will Grayson, Will Grayson.

Hold Me Closer is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a book and eBook.

 

Books like Paper Towns

6. Going Bovine by Libba Bray

A diagnosis of Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease, the human form of mad cow, leads slacker Cameron on a hallucinogenic road trip with a video-game addicted dwarf. Road trips across Florida and a dark sense of humor are just a few of the things this book shares with John Green’s Paper Towns.

Going Bovine is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a book, eBook and downloadable audiobook.

7. Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King

Vera Dietz has been secretly in love with her best friend Charlie Khan forever. When Charlie dies, only Vera knows what truly happened, but will she tell? Dark and moving, this novel will appeal to those drawn to the mystery at the centre of Paper Towns.

Please Ignore Vera Dietz is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a book, eBook and downloadable audiobook.

 

Books like An Abundance of Katherines

8. The Lucy Variations by Sara Zarr

At 14, child prodigy Lucy walks away from her promising career as a concert pianist. Now 16, Lucy feels lost. Starting over isn’t easy, and Lucy makes more mistakes—and discoveries—than she ever has in the process. Like An Abundance of Katherines, this book explores who you become when the life you were destined for ends.

The Lucy Variations is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a book, eBook and downloadable audiobook.

9. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

With a brother in prison and a father who barely speaks, Aristotle feels lost and angry most of the time—if he could only discover the secrets of the universe, maybe his life would be happier. A friendship sparked at a swimming pool brings Dante into Ari’s life, and together they begin to realize that the answers they were looking for are very different than they imagined.

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a book, eBook, audiobook and downloadable audiobook.

 

Books like Looking for Alaska

10. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart

Frankie Landau-Banks’ gorgeous new boyfriend is part of an all-male secret society, The Loyal Order of the Basset Hounds, who plan elaborate pranks and create chaos wherever they go. Frankie, smart and capable, wonders why the boys get to have all the fun, and sets into motion a plan that just might turn her into a criminal mastermind. If boarding school pranks were your favourite part of Looking for Alaska, this is a perfect next read.

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks is available from the Edmonton Public Library as an eBook as well as an instant eBook via hoopla.

11. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Through a series of letters, Charlie tells an unnamed stranger the story of his life so far, from the secrets he keeps for his sister to the traumatic car crash that killed his Aunt Helen. Like Alaska, Charlie seeks a Great Perhaps in this searching, heartfelt novel.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a book, eBook, audiobook, downloadable audiobook and large print edition. There’s also a movie version on DVD or Blu-ray and a book club kit.

 

Books like Turtles All The Way Down

12. It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

Craig Gilner is an ambitious teen who, overwhelmed with anxiety and depression, begins a stay at a mental hospital. There, Craig makes unusual friends, and is finally able to face the source of his anxiety. Like John Green, author Ned Vizzini wrote this novel based on his own struggles with mental health.

It’s Kind of a Funny Story is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a book, eBook, instant eBook via hoopla, downloadable audiobook and streaming audiobook. There’s also a movie version.

13. I Kill Giants by Joe Kelly (illustrated by J. M. Ken Nimura)

Barbara Thorson sees things other people can’t. Uninterested in her difficult life, Barbara sinks into a fantasy world of pixies and fairies, and is the only one who can help when giants threaten to destroy everything. A graphic novel that asks what reality really is, this is a great companion read to Turtles All The Way Down.

I Kill Giants is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a print edition and as a downloadable volume via hoopla.

 

What are your favourite John Green-esque young adult novels? Share them with us in the comments!

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Edmonton Public Library