If You Like John Green, You’ll Love These 13 YA Books

Are you a member of Nerdfighteriaopens a new window who can’t wait to get your hands on John Green’s newly released Turtles All the Way Downopens a new window? Whether you’re waiting for your hold or have already blasted through it, we’ve made you a list of books and authors similar to John Green’s quirky style.

Like Green’s novels, these books are hilarious, introspective and pack an emotional punch. Check them all out and don’t forget to be awesome!

Books like The Fault in Our Starsopens a new window

1. Everything, Everythingopens a new window by Nicola Yoon

A life-threatening disease has forced Madeline to stay inside for all of her 18 years. When a new boy moves in next door, the outside world becomes more irresistible than ever. Like Hazel, Maddy is a strong girl in a hard situation, and must decide how much she’ll risk for love.opens a new window

Everything, Everything is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a bookopens a new window, eBookopens a new window and downloadable audiobookopens a new window. There’s also a movie versionopens a new window.

2. Eleanor & Parkopens a new window by Rainbow Rowell

Long bus rides, mix tapes and comics bring misfits Eleanor and Park together. As their feelings for each other intensify, stronger and darker forces threaten to tear them apart. If Hazel and Gus’ connection in The Fault in Our Starts left you wanting more, this is the book for you.opens a new window

Eleanor & Park is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a bookopens a new window, eBookopens a new window, audiobookopens a new window and downloadable audiobookopens a new window.

3. Me and Earl and the Dying Girlopens a new window by Jesse Andrews

Greg doesn’t have any friends. What he does have is a “co-worker,” Earl, who he makes movie parodies with and Rachel, a sick girl from school who Greg’s mom forces him to visit. As Rachel gets sicker, Greg and Earl try to make a movie to cheer her up. Hilarious and devastating, this book will appeal to fans of the jokes and the tears in The Fault in Our Stars.opens a new window

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a bookopens a new window, eBookopens a new window, audiobookopens a new window and downloadable audiobookopens a new window. There is also a movie versionopens a new window.

Books like Will Grayson, Will Graysonopens a new window

4. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agendaopens a new window by Becky Albertalli

Simon thinks the school musical is going to be the only drama in his life, until a private e-mail falls into the hands of a vindictive classmate threatening to out him before he’s ready. Much like will grayson in John Green and David Levithan’s jointly authored novel, Simon must navigate sexual identity and first love while deciding how much of himself he’s willing to reveal to the world.opens a new window

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a bookopens a new window, eBookopens a new window and downloadable audiobookopens a new window.

5. Hold Me Closer: The Tiny Cooper Storyopens a new window by David Levithan

Couldn’t get enough of larger-than-life Tiny Cooper? Read the gut-busting script of his autobiographical musical in this sort-of-sequel to Will Grayson, Will Grayson.opens a new window

Hold Me Closer is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a bookopens a new window and eBookopens a new window.

Books like Paper Townsopens a new window

6. Going Bovineopens a new window by Libba Bray

A diagnosis of Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease, the human form of mad cow, leads slacker Cameron on a hallucinogenic road trip with a video-game addicted dwarf. Road trips across Florida and a dark sense of humor are just a few of the things this book shares with John Green’s Paper Towns.opens a new window

Going Bovine is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a bookopens a new window, eBookopens a new window and downloadable audiobookopens a new window.

7. Please Ignore Vera Dietzopens a new window by A.S. King

Vera Dietz has been secretly in love with her best friend Charlie Khan forever. When Charlie dies, only Vera knows what truly happened, but will she tell? Dark and moving, this novel will appeal to those drawn to the mystery at the centre of Paper Towns.opens a new window

Please Ignore Vera Dietz is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a bookopens a new window, eBookopens a new window and downloadable audiobookopens a new window.

Books like An Abundance of Katherinesopens a new window

8. The Lucy Variationsopens a new window by Sara Zarr

At 14, child prodigy Lucy walks away from her promising career as a concert pianist. Now 16, Lucy feels lost. Starting over isn’t easy, and Lucy makes more mistakes—and discoveries—than she ever has in the process. Like An Abundance of Katherines, this book explores who you become when the life you were destined for ends.opens a new window

The Lucy Variations is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a bookopens a new window, eBookopens a new window and downloadable audiobookopens a new window.

9. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universeopens a new window by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

With a brother in prison and a father who barely speaks, Aristotle feels lost and angry most of the time—if he could only discover the secrets of the universe, maybe his life would be happier. A friendship sparked at a swimming pool brings Dante into Ari’s life, and together they begin to realize that the answers they were looking for are very different than they imagined.opens a new window

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a bookopens a new window, eBookopens a new window, audiobookopens a new window and downloadable audiobookopens a new window.

Books like Looking for Alaskaopens a new window

10. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks opens a new windowby E. Lockhart

Frankie Landau-Banks’ gorgeous new boyfriend is part of an all-male secret society, The Loyal Order of the Basset Hounds, who plan elaborate pranks and create chaos wherever they go. Frankie, smart and capable, wonders why the boys get to have all the fun, and sets into motion a plan that just might turn her into a criminal mastermind. If boarding school pranks were your favourite part of Looking for Alaska, this is a perfect next read.opens a new window

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks is available from the Edmonton Public Library as an eBookopens a new window as well as an instant eBookopens a new window via hoopla.

11. The Perks of Being a Wallfloweropens a new window by Stephen Chbosky

Through a series of letters, Charlie tells an unnamed stranger the story of his life so far, from the secrets he keeps for his sister to the traumatic car crash that killed his Aunt Helen. Like Alaska, Charlie seeks a Great Perhaps in this searching, heartfelt novel.opens a new window

The Perks of Being a Wallflower is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a bookopens a new window, eBookopens a new window, audiobookopens a new window, downloadable audiobookopens a new window and large print editionopens a new window. There’s also a movie version on DVDopens a new window or Blu-rayopens a new window and a book club kitopens a new window.

Books like Turtles All The Way Downopens a new window

12. It’s Kind of a Funny Storyopens a new window by Ned Vizzini

Craig Gilner is an ambitious teen who, overwhelmed with anxiety and depression, begins a stay at a mental hospital. There, Craig makes unusual friends, and is finally able to face the source of his anxiety. Like John Green, author Ned Vizzini wrote this novel based on his own struggles with mental health.opens a new window

It’s Kind of a Funny Story is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a bookopens a new window, eBookopens a new window, instant eBookopens a new window via hoopla, downloadable audiobookopens a new window and streaming audiobookopens a new window. There’s also a movie versionopens a new window.

13. I Kill Giants opens a new windowby Joe Kelly (illustrated by J. M. Ken Nimura)

Barbara Thorson sees things other people can’t. Uninterested in her difficult life, Barbara sinks into a fantasy world of pixies and fairies, and is the only one who can help when giants threaten to destroy everything. A graphic novel that asks what reality really is, this is a great companion read to Turtles All The Way Down.opens a new window

I Kill Giants is available from the Edmonton Public Library as a print editionopens a new window and as a downloadable volumeopens a new window via hoopla.

What are your favourite John Green-esque young adult novels? Share them with us in the comments!

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Edmonton Public Library